Welcome to 2016, Jamie!

Holy cow, it’s been forever! I’ve been swamped at work, along with a lot of personal things going on – I got married, for example! – which means the blog has been super neglected. I’ve been posting quite a bit on my Instagram, which I think I’m turning into a lip swatch library. I might post a few of the same photos over here, especially since I’ve got a few things that I haven’t talked about such as the Life’s Entropy Lip Theories and some of the Darling Girl lip things I’ve gotten to try out.

So as I always wind up saying, I’m coming back for 2016. Hopefully I’ll find my passion for reviewing things again. The two month break has helped me figure out a few things as to what I want and what I’m going to try to accomplish with my makeup collection.

First things first – I’m not going to be reviewing any brand new products as a priority. Sure, some things might wind up in my collection, but I really want to focus on the products I have and how much I like or dislike them. I want to get my collection down quite a bit, which means wearing things and figuring out if they’re for me. First up is my lip product collection, which is why my Instagram is filled with swatches. I want to find actual dupes in my collection, not those oh well it’s kind of close.

I put myself on a makeup budget of $50 each month. While I’m going to do my best to NOT spend it, I’m also not going to get mad at myself if I’m having just that kind of day and need a little bit of stress shopping. If I go over my $50, then it’ll get deducted from the next month.

SHEET MASKS are officially off the purchasing menu. That does not include my Mask Genie subscription because I do really like exploring new masks through it. I re-did my inventory on Saturday, and I have 119 masks. I’ve since done 3, so I’m down to 116. I want to get through 80 of them by April. I’m mostly focusing on the ones that either expire in 2016 or have no expiration date. Anything without an expiration date will be used by April 2016.

I’ve become a mascara, brows, blush, and lipstick kind of girl lately, and I want to get back into eyeshadows. I love love love my duochromes, so it’s about time they get dusted off. I mean, I finally tried out my Howl Cosmetics shadows this past Christmas after ordering them in the summer for the Summer release.

So with that, I’m hoping to get my blog back up and running.

Happy 2016! Do you have any goals for yourself this year?

About Jamie

Makeup obsessed beauty blogger, with an affinity for reading books and going to concerts. Check out my blog (www.post9to5.com) for awesome product reviews.
This entry was posted in Beauty. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Welcome to 2016, Jamie!

  1. Sabrina says:

    Oh my gosh SO MANY MASKS

  2. Happy New Year! This year I want to try new things 🙂 I agree with the eyeshadow thing, I’m getting more into eye shadow myself!

  3. Iris says:

    Congratulations on your marriage!

  4. noon says:

    omg congrats on the marriage!!

  5. Jessica says:

    I feel the same about sheet masks! I am trying to wean myself off of them, but I am discovering wash-off masks seem to be more my style.

    • Jamie says:

      I’m going through my wash off masks too, and I think I’m more of a sheet mask person just because I like the easy on/off, don’t have to wash off anything.

  6. quinngoldie says:

    Lip swatches, please!!

Tell me what you think!

