Ardency Inn Modster Manuka Honey Enriched Pigment in Rose Gold

After a lot of hype, I decided to finally pick up the Ardency Inn Modster Manuka Honey Enriched Pigment in Rose Gold (phew, that’s a mouthful).

IMG_7186E

I’m not big on rose gold shades – they’re gorgeous but they’re just not something I reach for often. I prefer champagne shades over golds, which is why I sit back while everybody is gushing over the newest rose gold shade. However, after looking at swatches of this I signed up for a notification from Sephora for when it was back in stock, and then picked up two (one for me and one for a friend).

IMG_7187E


As usual, the swatches below are done over Urban Decay’s Primer Potion in indirect natural light.

Rose Gold a mauve-y rose purple base with gold shimmer. It’s not quite a duochrome, but it’s still just as pretty.

As for the formula, it’s super soft and smooth. If you’ve been in a Sephora lately and you’ve felt the Kat Von D Metal Crush shadows, they’re very similar in the creaminess. I think that the Kat Von D ones flake a little more than the Ardency Inn formula, probably due to having too much binder/silicone in them.

Another thing I really like is the packaging. It’s not the most sturdy, but you can pop out the pan really easily and add it into a Z-Palette to declutter your stash. The worst thing I can say about this is that it’s pretty soft, which means traveling it is a little difficult. When I first ordered these, one of my pans showedd up completely obliterated and the other had a bit of damage around the edges. I posted this picture on my Instagram when I got it:

Sephora was awesome and replaced the pans, which I’m very grateful for. They sent them with better protective bubble wrap, and they both appeared brand new.

I definitely recommend these shadows. I’ve purchased another one, and I’m pretty sure that I’ll be picking up at least one more during the November sale. Rose Gold looks great paired with a neutral warm brown eye. I’ve also used it as a halo eye foiled in the center with (again) warm browns.

Price: $21 for 0.06 ounces ($350/oz)
For comparison purposes, the Kat Von D Metal Crush shadows are $21 for 0.10 ounces ($210/oz) and Make Up For Ever Artist Eyeshadows are $21 for 0.07 ounces ($300/oz). While the Ardency Inn shadows are the most expensive per ounce, I think they’re definitely worth it.

You can find these on Sephora.

About Jamie

Makeup obsessed beauty blogger, with an affinity for reading books and going to concerts. Check out my blog (www.post9to5.com) for awesome product reviews.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Mainstream Cosmetics, Makeup and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ardency Inn Modster Manuka Honey Enriched Pigment in Rose Gold

  1. Aditi says:

    I’m definitely picking up a few during the November sale!

  2. swatchlette says:

    That Rose Gold has been on my wishlist way too long. I kept chickening out of ordering it because every single person I know has gotten it broken in the mail, but I am so glad to hear that Sephora replaced it for you! Now I can’t wait til the November sale to grab it 🙂

Tell me what you think!

