Kae Q : Beso Balms in Rose Apple, Caimito, and Dragonfruit

Since I got to try out Kae Q’s reformulated products a while ago, I decided to pick up some of the summer colors when they were released.

IMG_7316E

Kae Q’s Beso Balms use hand pressed oils and are inspired by products local to the owner, Nicole. You can see the local inspiration in a lot of her Color of the Month shades. They’re usually a bit out of my comfort zone which is why I didn’t pick up June or July’s shades. I decided to try out two of the sheer shades and one of the opaque ones. 

Rose Apple
Lovely, sheer coral-pink color.
Rose Apple gives my lips a really pretty natural pink shade. It’s a sheer shade, but it doesn’t wind up wearing unevenly as the day continues on. This one doesn’t leave a noticeable stain on my lips. It’s not the most moisturizing lip product I own, at least not in Arizona when I’m using this as my primary lip product. In Texas, it works perfectly fine and my lips don’t dry out when I wear it (thanks, humidity!).

Caimito
Sheer lipstick in a vivid purple shade.
Caimito is another sheer shade from Kae Q’s summer collection, and it winds up being a more sheer magenta-purple on me. As with Rose Apple, it works well in more humid environments and isn’t drying. I’m sure if I had brought this to Arizona with me, I would have experienced the same issues.

Dragonfruit
There wasn’t a description for this color, but it’s a really bright magenta pink. It stains almost immediately and I do experience some slight feathering when I wear this one.

I found two issues with the Kae Q balms I ordered. First, they tend to develop wax blooms if you don’t use them for a period of time. I reached out to the owner (Nicole) and she said that they’re probably not dangerous so long as they don’t smell and that they disappear when you put the balm near a warm window for a few minutes. Here’s what they look like when this happens:

IMG_7495E

The other issue I found was that it’s possible for the bullet to shave off a bit. It happens when you twist up the lipstick too far and then twist it back down. It’s sad to see the waste when that happens so don’t twist up the lipstick too much!

IMG_7498EAdditionally, the website claims that each of these lipsticks/balms is 0.3 ounces. The actual labels say that they’re significantly smaller at 0.06 ounces. Since I ordered at the beginning of the summer, Nicole is changing the packaging back to slimline tubes. I’m actually a little disappointed – even though these tubes have their issues, I do prefer them over the standard slimlines.

Overall, I am a fan of Kae Q’s reformulated Beso Balms. I’ve reviewed the reformulated product previously here, and I’m glad that Nicole decided to put things on a seasonal rotation because it does help with the shipping time. They’re not the most moisturizing, but they’re also not drying on me. The sheer ones don’t feather and I really like them for the summer months.

Price: $7 for 0.06 ounces ($116.67/oz)

You can find Kae Q on her website here.

About Jamie

Makeup obsessed beauty blogger, with an affinity for reading books and going to concerts. Check out my blog (www.post9to5.com) for awesome product reviews.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Indie Cosmetics, Makeup and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kae Q : Beso Balms in Rose Apple, Caimito, and Dragonfruit

  1. Dragon fruit is such a pretty shade!

    I’m just getting into indies and haven’t really branched into lipstick yet. Would you recommend Kae Q as a good first option to dip my toes in so to speak? There are so many choices!

    • Jamie says:

      Oh man, what a huge question. Kae Q is great for beginners – they offer a sheer option which is nice if you’re not sure if you like lipstick yet or not. Since Dragonfruit feathered on me, you have to pair it with a lipliner, which isn’t a bad thing, but it just adds another step that you may or may not want to do.

      I always recommend Darling Girl’s Balm Glosses as one of my favorite indies – it’s a gloss but it doesn’t feather and depending on what shade you get it can be really pigmented or not so much. My favorite is Raindrops on Roses which (unfortunately) was a limited shade.

      • It really was a huge question, thank you for tackling it! 🙂
        I haven’t actually heard too much about the Balm Glosses so I’ll check those out, thanks so much for the recommendation!

Tell me what you think!

