By Terry : Eye Designer Palette in Smokey Nude

April was a rough month for me in terms of my low buy. I pretty much threw it out the window because it was my birthday and I found a few things I really wanted during the Sephora sale. Then, to top it off, the awesome Jules from The Brauhaus went to IMATS and offered to pick me up some goodies which I of course decided to take her up on. Thankfully I wasn’t tempted by the Make Up For Ever palettes that just got released… Anyways, one of the things I was most excited for was the release of the By Terry Eye Designer Palettes. I knew I was only going to pick up one, and I knew it was going to be the neutral palette.

IMG_6518E

I expected the Smokey Nudes palette to have a few more purple tones in it, so I was a little surprised when I opened it up. In fact, I was a little disappointed. I decided to give it a chance though – there’s no reason to ignore it because it didn’t have enough purple for me. The case it comes in is purple and plastic. This kind of gets stuck to any other plastic palettes that you’re storing with it. So far, there hasn’t been any damage to the case, such as the pattern transferring to the other palette which is what I was most concerned about.

IMG_6519E

There are seven matte shades and three satin ones.

IMG_6520E

As usual, swatches were done over Urban Decay’s Primer Potion in natural, indirect light.

I’m doing my swatches a little differently this time because I noticed that when I was swatching with a brush (which is what I normally do), the pigmentation on the black shade just wasn’t where I wanted it to be. I knew there was more potential from when I was doing quick finger swatches to see if I even liked it, and so I’m showing two rows of swatches: one with a brush and one with my finger.

Row 1E

The first row of the palette consists of black, copper, silver, taupe, and dark brown. The black and dark brown are mattes, with the other three having a more satin finish. I have a feeling that the three satin shades are what will be used first considering they’re what I’ll wind up using as my lid shades.

Row 2EThe second row of the palette consists of a purple-y taupe, baby pink, peach, skintone/ivory, and a medium tan. These are all matte shades. I see the bottom row as being more of your blending shades – things that should be in the crease that will help with blending and preventing harsh lines.

Overall, I really like this palette. I think that it’s good for work shades, and can be used for smokey going out looks thanks to the dark brown and black shades. All the shadows are really soft without kicking up too much powder.

Is it worth the $96? I’m not really sure. You could definitely find some matte shades that are on the same level as these for a cheaper price. However, if you’re partial to high end makeup, or want to spoil yourself a little, I think this is a nice palette to pick up.

It just got restocked on Beautylish this morning but it’s limited edition, so if you see it in stock and want it, you might want to just pick it up.

About Jamie

Makeup obsessed beauty blogger, with an affinity for reading books and going to concerts. Check out my blog (www.post9to5.com) for awesome product reviews.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Mainstream Cosmetics, Makeup and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to By Terry : Eye Designer Palette in Smokey Nude

  1. The shadows seem really pretty, and I love the way that they look in the palette itself, but wow – it’s super pricey! Thanks for the great review πŸ™‚

  2. Jules says:

    THAT PALETTE IS $96 AND THERE IS NO PURPLE? NO THANK YOU πŸ˜›

    Like the new swatch setup you have, though! The palette itself is gorgeous, but I don’t think I can drop the cash. Feel free to call me a hypocrite when I post a TF quad review though.

    • Jamie says:

      One of the shadows is KIND OF purple, but not explicitly so.

      I’m not sure about the swatching setup. I might keep it, but it’s not going to work for things like single shadow indies. We’ll see…

  3. This is one gorgeous palette! I’ve been contemplating getting it as well but with all these gorgeous summer collections I kind of forgot about it!
    Lovely! πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘ŒπŸΌπŸ˜»βœ¨
    Lots of xx, Annie
    http://www.anniesbeautyblog.con

  4. It’s a gorgeous palette but the swatches left me underwhelmed. Once swatched the colors look immensely dupable. Still gorgeous to look at, though.

  5. I love the prints in the palette, it’s nice to see something different

Tell me what you think!

