NARS : Velvet Matte Lip Pencils in Cruella, Never Say Never, and Sex Machine

If you’ve been reading this blog for a while, you’re not going to be a stranger to the fact that I love NARS products. Usually they can do no wrong in my eyes (their cleansing water and “radiance” primer are ones that are awful, but more on that later), and these Velvet Matte Lip Pencils are no exception. One of my first pencils was Sex Machine, and though it’s not my absolute favorite, it is something that I will reach for on a day I’m feeling like a quiet lip.

IMG_1084

Sex Machine 
As I said above, Sex Machine was one of the first lip pencils by NARS that I purchased. It’s the color that I reach to for the whole My-Lips-But-Better thing. It’s a cool pink that doesn’t scream at you. Being a velvet matte, this does not stain your lips. It will be as long wearing as it can be, but will require touch ups.

Never Say Never 
Sadly, whenever I read this name, I think of that Justin Bieber song. The fact that Justin Bieber has permeated into our lives so that I think of him kind of saddens me, but that’s not important. When I read the description of Never Say Never, it always calls this color a lilac. I don’t think that it’s necessarily wrong, but I do think it’s important for people to know that it comes off more pink than purple.

Cruella 
I have to say that Cruella is probably my favorite red that I own. Whenever I’m looking for the thing to make my  makeup pop, I grab Cruella. At first, I thought it was going to be difficult to pull it off, but little did I know that it is flattering has hell. It doesn’t stain your lips, but it will last through a couple of drinks with your friends at a bar.

Overall, I think the Velvet Matte Lip Pencils are pretty great. I think they’re a good alternative for when you’re looking for the traditional wear time of a lipstick rather than the staining that occurs with a lot of the other lipsticks that are out there. For me, they aren’t drying, but that’s not the case for everybody. If you add a lip balm underneath, the color will not transfer as smoothly and won’t be as pigmented (at least in my case). If you sharpen them before they’ve been worn down quite a bit, you will see some waste from the pencils. I’ve been told that if you use the NARS pencil sharpener, then that won’t happen. I will not be testing that theory though because I like my Sonia Kashuk pencil sharpener and I do wonder what would happen if I sharpened all my pencils with a $1 pencil sharpener that you buy for children for school. Maybe I’ll test the school pencil sharpener theory once August comes back around and those things go on clearance.

Rating: A
Price: $25 for 0.086 oz ($290.69/oz)
For comparison purposes, a BITE Beauty High Pigment pencil retails for $24 for 0.09 oz ($266.67).

About Jamie

Makeup obsessed beauty blogger, with an affinity for reading books and going to concerts. Check out my blog (www.post9to5.com) for awesome product reviews.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Mainstream Cosmetics, Makeup and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NARS : Velvet Matte Lip Pencils in Cruella, Never Say Never, and Sex Machine

  1. prettytrippy says:

    I’m obsessed with Sex Machine and want Cruella so badly!!! Love!!!

Tell me what you think!

